en  

#myWeekend - René Schudel


It is burning!

From a DJ to a slightly different star chef

A chef who discovered fire, and an international hotspot with an incomparable skyline. We got an inside view of René’s fast-paced lifestyle and his fiery MyWeekend.

Full of energy; that’s René. No matter when a day ends, as soon as the sun appears on the horizon in the morning, René quickly gets out of bed and is ready for action. Even as a young boy he was full of power, but he did not yet know how he could channel this power. With great difficulty, René barely completed a chef apprenticeship. His passion for cooking had yet to be awakened.

We meet him in Interlaken, Switzerland’s tourist Mecca. As a young boy he roamed the city. International guests and tourism have always been the lifeblood of the region. When René was a teenager, there were first-class clubs, while in Zurich there were none. We stroll along the streets, past restaurants and pubs that used to be clubs in which he worked as a DJ. At the Kulturgarage, René’s favourite place in Interlaken, we drink a cup of coffee and spontaneously find out that there was once a Hertz station in this building.

René Schudel, 43, is a trained chef and is renowned for his TV show. He grew up near Interlaken, and nowadays he and his unorthodox culinary skills are known throughout the country.

His first great love

René Schudel grew up right next to Interlaken in a village with 2,000 inhabitants called Wilderswil. The time he spent in school is not one of his best memories. Instead of sitting at his desk at school, he preferred to haunt the big sawmill with a friend from school. It was an Eldorado for the two youngsters, who practiced drifting for the first time there in a light blue VW bug. Transferring to a private school in Thun did not have the desired effect that his parents had hoped for. René only did what interested him, and that had little to do with school. As a young teenager in the 80s, he discovered electronic music. Finally, he had found something that was worth investing all his energy and money in. A career as a DJ was his goal from then on, and so he dove into the world of synthesizers, turntables and vinyl records. Although perceived as noise more than anything else by his milieu, he played his first loops and made a name for himself in Interlaken as a young DJ. In the evenings, he climbed over the gutters of his parental home like a ninja with vinyl records on his back to turn night into day in the clubs of Interlaken.

In the eyes of his parents, being a professional DJ and a rock star was not the solid basic education that they had imagined for their son. During an argument with his father, René spontaneously offered to train as a chef. To his surprise, his father, a respected village doctor, agreed, and so it was a done deal: René would become a chef!

Thanks to vitamin B, René began his apprenticeship at the rather posh Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa, which offered chances and opportunities he did not appreciate at the time. His sole concern was not hurting himself with a knife while doing kitchen work, because otherwise he would not be able to play in the clubs anymore. In the 90s, a very exclusive cuisine was taught at the Victoria Jungfrau; it was a different league with unusual products such as lobster and wild salmon. Looking back, René owes a lot to Erwin Stocker, the "kitchen grenadier", from whom he has bought an entire collection of cookbooks. Cooking was a "mega experience" and he learned more than most other apprentices in the gastronomy sector back then.

Upon completion of his apprenticeship, which he was able to finish a week early thanks to untaken holiday leave, he left the Bernese Oberland in his first car. His goal was the party Mecca Ibiza. René wanted to devote himself to electronic music and his DJ artistry there. He worked an entire summer as an animator and a DJ, and he partied in old greenhouses with over 10,000 party-goers until early in the morning. "All hell broke loose!", says René glowingly.

Occasionally René cooked for his DJ friends and to his surprise he received feedback that was decisive for his future:

 

"You cook better than you make music".

 

That was new for René. To just cook without this whole farce was liberating for him, says René. At the end of the season in September, the "lost son" stood empty-handed in front of his parent’s home again. Party life takes its toll on you, and it was clear to him that it was time for something new.

When music becomes unimportant

However, René’s connections from Ibiza paid off. He was asked to DJ at a wedding at the Designhotel Eden in Arosa. The hotel, and especially the way the owners ran it, fascinated René. It was a completely new kind of gastronomy: Suddenly the hotelier stood in the kitchen and his wife looked after the guests. The outdated customs and practices of gastronomy, as René puts it, were done away with. The white general at the stove became a rock star. The well-thought-out design of the stylish hotel, the fresh way of meeting the guest at eye level, the joy of world cuisine – all that was new for René. The high regard the guests had for the chef and their interest in his way of cooking, in particular, were the reason why René’s passion for cooking flared up and he accepted a job as head chef on the spot. From then on René rocked the kitchen.

After five years in Arosa, he moved to Zurich. Thanks to top chef Beat Caduff from the Grisons, he discovered his love for products. From then on tomatoes were no longer only tomatoes. Hitherto they were only there to be processed according to the rules of gastronomy. "Suddenly cooking was great fun", explains René. From then on music was unimportant and his new mantra was: "Cook, cook, cook". René finally expressed this new passion with the opening his first restaurant. The entrance led straight through the kitchen, the tables were covered with stylish tableware and water was served open. What is commonplace now in the gastronomy sector was very new back then.

When René describes his passion for music and cooking, a connection is found: Both touch people and both should speak for themselves. When cooking, this happens when one changes the original product as little as possible. From then on that was his credo, and he launched his first cooking show in the year 2000. In more than 123 episodes of Funky Kitchen Club, René cooks and eats his way halfway around the world. As always, he moved full speed ahead, and he opened two more restaurants in Interlaken as well.

Light a fire

Eating together is always associated with fire for René, and he gives us a short history lesson: Fire is the element that makes a human a human. Without fire, people ate meat raw and roamed restlessly through the wilderness in search of food. With the discovery of fire, people developed social behaviour. From then on people sat together at the fire, cooked over it and shared food.

With little equipment and materials, cooking directly over a fire became René’s favorite way to prepare meals for guests. This rather rudimentary style of cooking gives the meal the special roasted aroma that René likes so much. While he assembles his grill in front of us, he explains how different types of wood bring out the flavours of the products: The high-energy wood of the olive tree is incredible for lamb, applewood is great for pork and cherry is fantastic for poultry and duck. Cooking over a fire is challenging because you cannot change the temperature immediately like you can with a stove. Grilling meat and vegetables must be well thought out, and right away René begins to ponder the vegetables: "Some vegetables are sweeter, others are savoury and still others are delicate. When grilling, it is the vegetables and not the meat that bestow the sex appeal". René’s view of food and the joy it gives him is very contagious.

Since cooking over a fire in a restaurant is rather difficult from an economic point of view, René will cook for guests at a new pop-up restaurant in Interlaken. He does not need much for that: a big steel plate and fire below it. Since there were no satisfactory grills in the market place, a few years ago René decided to build his own grill. Together with an Argentinian welder he modified plough discs in Spain. That is the best material and it is real "heavy metal", says René, because it must be able to withstand the heat.

 

The inferno

Hitherto, wherever René has cooked, he has done another job as well: He is an ardent fireman. This is illustrated by the tattoo on his forearm with the inscription: "Firefighters walk where the Devil dances". Even as a young man he put out fire – in his home village, in Arosa, in Zurich and for the past 20 years in Interlaken. That his involvement has nothing to do with his fascination with fire becomes quickly clear as René continues to explain. Above all, working on a team is close to his heart. A music society or football club was never his thing. He wanted to be where it comes down to him, where – in René’s words – "heavy stuff" is concerned. Quickly forming a team, providing temporary assistance and leading the operation – these challenges motivate René. With a broad grin, he reveals to us that in addition to team experience there is something else: "When you are the chef for the fire brigade, you have access to the best producers, because farmers, butchers and bakers – they are all members of the fire brigade. That is my service club".

Greetings from the kitchen

René would like to stay in Interlaken, and for one reason: because it is not better anywhere else. The gastronomy is not comparable to that of Zurich or New York, but there is no other place where the quality of life is so good. He would only exchange the view of the Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau for the skyline of New York, if at all. He would still choose to enjoy the pure beauty of his home on his perfect MyWeekend. That he remains here at home and is satisfied is also strongly related to the fact that he travels a lot. When he is not cooking for tourists in Interlaken, he becomes a tourist himself – or he travels as a chef to cultural hotspots around world. With so much travelling, not much can be allowed to go wrong, so René does not take any risks when choosing his mobility partner. With Hertz he always accomplishes his goals, and he can concentrate on collaborative gatherings and enjoy his love of food, whether it be sharing a round of tapas in Spain, filming a new episode of a TV cooking show with his cameraman in Norway or cooking over a fire with a good friend at 3,600 metres in an SAC hut. The fuel is nowhere near used up, and so René will probably light a fire in many more places.

#inLOVEwithSWITZERLAND

Switzerland Tourism recommends

Interlaken

Nestled between Lake Thun and Lake Brienz and surrounded by an impressive mountain backdrop, Interlaken is the perfect base for numerous activities. Whether you’re looking for active relaxation or adrenaline-charged adventure activities, sports and adventure plus plenty of enjoyment, sun, nature and fantastic panoramic vistas await you in Interlaken.


Discover more

Special MyWeekend Offers

Benefit now

MyWeekend

Discover more stories

fr  

#myWeekend - René Schudel


Ça chauffe !

Du DJ à un chef étoilé un peu différent

Un cuisinier qui a découvert le feu et un hotspot international avec une ligne d’horizon incomparable. Nous avons un aperçu du style de vie fulgurant de René et de son MyWeekend ardent.

Plein d’énergie – c’est René. Peu importe l’heure à laquelle se termine sa journée, dès que le soleil apparaît à l’horizon le lendemain matin, René sort rapidement du lit plein d’entrain. Même petit, il débordait d’énergie, mais comment la convertir, il ne le savait pas à l’époque. Non sans mal, René a effectué un apprentissage de cuisinier. Il a fallu d’abord éveiller sa passion pour la cuisine.

Nous le rencontrons dans le haut lieu touristique de la Suisse à Interlaken. Jeune garçon, il faisait des virées dans la ville. Les clients internationaux et le tourisme ont toujours été l’élixir de vie de la région. Dans la jeunesse de René, il y avait des clubs de qualité alors qu’il ne se passait encore rien à Zurich. Nous flânons dans les rues, devant les restaurants et les pubs qui étaient des clubs à l’époque où il était DJ. Dans le Kulturgarage, le lieu préféré de René à Interlaken, nous prenons un café et découvrons spontanément qu’à une époque, il y avait une agence Hertz dans ce bâtiment.

René Schudel, 43 ans, est un cuisinier qualifié et est réputé pour ses émissions de télévision. Il a grandi près d’Interlaken et est maintenant connu dans tout le pays pour ses talents culinaires extravagants.

Premier grand amour

René Schudel a grandi juste à côté d’Interlaken, dans le village de Wilderswil qui compte 2000 habitants. Ses années d’école ne font pas partie de ses meilleurs souvenirs. Au lieu d’aller à l’école, il préférait faire des virées avec son camarade de classe dans la grande scierie. Un Eldorado pour les deux garçons, qui s’entraînaient à leurs premiers dérapages sur le terrain avec une coccinelle VW bleu clair. Même l’intégration dans une école privée de Thoune n’a pas eu l’effet escompté par ses parents. René ne faisait que ce qui l’intéressait, et cela n’avait pas grand-chose à voir avec l’école. Dans les années 80, jeune adolescent, il découvrit la musique électronique. Il avait enfin trouvé quelque chose qui valait la peine d’y investir toute son énergie et de piller le contenu de sa tirelire. Dès lors, son objectif est de faire une carrière de DJ et il se plonge dans l’univers des synthétiseurs, des platines et des vinyles. Perçu plutôt comme du vacarme par son environnement proche, il met en place ses premières boucles et se forge un nom à Interlaken en tant que jeune DJ. Le soir, avec des vinyles sur le dos, il grimpait comme un ninja sur la gouttière de la maison de ses parents pour transformer la nuit en jour dans les clubs d’Interlaken.

Aux yeux de ses parents, DJ professionnel et rock star n’étaient pas la solide éducation de base qu’ils avaient imaginée pour leur fils. Lors d’une dispute avec son père, René propose spontanément de suivre un apprentissage de cuisinier. A son grand étonnement, son père, médecin respecté du village, accepta, et c’est ainsi que la question fut conclue : René deviendrait cuisinier !

Grâce à la vitamine B, René commença son apprentissage dans le prestigieux hôtel Victoria Jungfrau, dont il n’appréciait pas à l’époque les chances et les opportunités. Son seul souci était de ne pas se blesser avec un couteau pendant qu’il travaillait en cuisine, sinon il ne pouvait pas être DJ dans les clubs. Dans les années 1990, le Victoria Jungfrau enseignait une cuisine très exclusive – une autre classe avec des produits extraordinaires tels que le homard ou le saumon sauvage. Avec le recul, René doit beaucoup au « grenadier de cuisine » Erwin Stocker, dont il a acheté entre-temps toute la collection de livres de cuisine. La cuisine était une « méga expérience » et il a appris tellement de choses que pratiquement aucun autre apprenti dans la restauration n’a connues à cette époque.

Après avoir achevé son apprentissage, qui prit fin un peu plus tôt grâce à une semaine de solde de vacances, il a quitté l’Oberland bernois dans sa toute première voiture. Sa destination : Ibiza, la Mecque des fêtes. Là, René a voulu se consacrer entièrement à la musique électronique et à ses talents de DJ. Il a travaillé comme animateur et DJ pendant tout un été, faisant la fête dans de vieilles serres avec plus de 10 000 fêtards jusqu’au petit matin. « L’enfer s’est déchaîné », dit encore aujourd’hui René avec enthousiasme.

Parallèlement, René cuisinait pour ses collègues DJ et reçut, à son grand étonnement, un feedback qui se révéla décisif pour son avenir :

 

« Tu cuisines mieux que tu ne fais de la musique ».

 

C’était nouveau pour René. Le fait de cuisiner en toute simplicité sans toutes ces « singeries », comme le disait René, fut libérateur pour lui. À la fin de la saison, en septembre, le « fils prodigue » se retrouva les mains vides devant la porte de chez ses parents. La vie de fête coûte cher et il a réalisé qu’il était temps de faire quelque chose de nouveau.

Quand la musique devient secondaire

Les relations de René à Ibiza portèrent leurs fruits malgré tout. Il fut sollicité comme DJ lors d’un mariage au Designhotel Eden à Arosa. René fut fasciné par l’hôtel, et surtout par la façon dont les propriétaires le géraient. C’était un tout nouveau genre de gastronomie : soudain, l’hôtelier se tenait dans la cuisine et sa femme s’occupait des clients. Les vieilles tresses de la gastronomie, comme disait René, ont été coupées. Le général blanc au fourneau est devenu une rock star. L’hôtel stylé au design bien pensé, la manière fraîche de rencontrer le client les yeux dans les yeux, la joie de la cuisine des quatre coins du monde – tout cela était nouveau pour René. C’est notamment l’appréciation des clients pour le chef et leur intérêt pour son style de cuisine qui ont fait naître la passion de René pour la cuisine et l’ont amené spontanément à prendre le poste de chef cuisinier. Dès lors, René devint la star de la cuisine.

Après cinq ans à Arosa, il s’est installé à Zurich. Grâce au grand chef Beat Caduff des Grisons, il a découvert son amour pour les produits. Désormais, les tomates n’étaient plus seulement des tomates. Jusqu’alors, elles n’étaient là que pour être traitées selon les règles de la gastronomie. « Soudain, la cuisine me faisait incroyablement plaisir », raconte René. À partir de ce moment, la musique était un plat d’accompagnement et pour lui, il s’agissait de « cuisiner, cuisiner, cuisiner ». René concrétisa enfin cette nouvelle passion en ouvrant ses premiers restaurants. Leur entrée passait directement par la cuisine, les tables étaient dressées avec de la vaisselle élégante et l’eau était servie. Ce qui est courant dans la gastronomie aujourd’hui était complètement nouveau à l’époque.

Quand René décrit sa passion pour la musique et la cuisine, il y a un lien : les deux touchent les gens et les deux devraient parler pour elles-mêmes. En cuisine, on y parvient en modifiant le moins possible le produit d’origine. Dès lors, suivant son credo, il a commencé ses premières émissions de cuisine vers l’an 2000. Dans plus de 123 émissions de cuisine du Funky Kitchen Club, René a cuisiné et mangé à l’autre bout du monde. Comme toujours, il a donné les pleins gaz et ouvert deux restaurants à Interlaken.

Allumer un feu

Pour René, manger ensemble a toujours été associé au feu. Pour cela, René nous donne une petite leçon d’histoire : le feu est l’élément qui a fait de nous des êtres humains sociaux. Sans feu, les gens déchiraient la viande crue et erraient sans cesse dans les contrées sauvages en quête de nourriture. Avec la découverte du feu, l’homme a développé son comportement social. Désormais, les gens se sont rassemblés autour du feu, ont cuisiné et partagé leur nourriture.

Cuisiner avec peu d’équipement et de matériel directement au-dessus du feu est devenu la façon préférée de René pour divertir ses invités. Cette cuisine plutôt rudimentaire donne aux plats l’arôme particulier des grillades que René aime tant. En installant son gril devant nous, il nous raconte comment les différents bois font ressortir les saveurs des produits : le bois d’olivier, riche en énergie, est délirant pour l’agneau, le bois de pommier pour le porc et le bois de cerisier pour la volaille et le canard. Cuisiner sur le feu est exigeant, dit-il, car on ne peut pas faire varier la température immédiatement, comme avec un poêle. La grillade de la viande et des légumes doit être bien pensée et René se met immédiatement à réfléchir sur les légumes : « Certains légumes sont plus sucrés, d’autres plus savoureux et d’autres plus délicats. En grillant, ce sont les légumes qui donnent le sex-appeal et non la viande ». Le point de vue de René sur les produits alimentaires et le plaisir qu’il en tire sont tout simplement contagieux.

Comme d’un point de vue économique, il est plutôt difficile de cuisiner sur le feu dans un restaurant, René va cuisiner pour les clients dans un nouveau restaurant pop-up à Interlaken. Il n’a pas besoin de grand-chose pour cela : une grande plaque d’acier et un feu en dessous. Comme il n’y avait pas de grils convaincants sur le marché, René a décidé il y a quelques années de construire son propre gril. Avec un soudeur argentin, il a utilisé des socs de charrue en Espagne. C’est le meilleur matériau et un vrai « Heavy Metal », comme le pense René, car il faut un métal qui résiste à la chaleur.

 

L'Enfer

Partout où René a cuisiné jusqu’à présent, il a également exercé une autre activité : c’est un pompier enthousiaste. Comme l’atteste le tatouage sur son avant-bras qui dit : « Les pompiers marchent là où danse le Diable. » Que ce soit dans son village natal, à Arosa, à Zurich et depuis 20 ans à Interlaken – il a déjà éteint des incendies dans sa jeunesse. Mais que son engagement n’ait rien à voir avec sa fascination pour le feu devient vite évident lorsque René nous en parle. Le travail en équipe lui tient à cœur avant toute chose. Le club de musique ou de football n’a jamais été son truc – il voulait être là où son concours importait – là où, selon les mots de René, il s’agit d’« opérations lourdes ». Former une équipe en peu de temps, mettre en place une aide temporaire et diriger l’intervention, tels sont les défis qui motivent René. Outre l’expérience de l’équipe, René en tire aussi autre chose, nous révèle-t-il avec un large sourire : « Quand vous êtes chef cuisinier chez les pompiers, vous avez accès aux meilleurs producteurs, car les agriculteurs, les bouchers et les boulangers… sont tous pompiers. C’est mon club de service ».

Salutations de la cuisine

René veut rester à Interlaken pour une raison : parce rien n’est meilleur nulle part. Bien que la gastronomie ne soit pas comparable à celle de Zurich ou de New York, il n’existe aucun autre endroit où l’on puisse profiter d’une qualité de vie aussi élevée. Il n’échangerait la vue de l’Eiger, du Mönch et de la Jungfrau à la rigueur qu’avec la skyline de New York, si tant est qu’il y en ait une. Bien que pour son MyWeekend parfait, il choisirait toujours de profiter de la beauté pure de son pays natal. Rester à la maison et en être satisfait est aussi fortement lié au fait qu’il voyage beaucoup. Lorsqu’il ne cuisine pas pour les touristes à Interlaken, il devient lui-même touriste – ou parcourt les hauts lieux culturels du monde en tant que cuisinier. Avec autant de voyages, il n’y a pas grand-chose qui puisse mal tourner. René s’assure donc que rien ne laisse à désirer dans le choix de son partenaire de mobilité. Avec Hertz, il est toujours arrivé à bon port et peut se concentrer sur le plaisir de la convivialité et de la nourriture. Qu’il s’agisse de rejoindre une tournée de bar à tapas en Espagne, de filmer un nouvel épisode de cuisine avec son cameraman en Norvège, ou de cuisiner avec un ami cher à 3600 mètres d’altitude dans une cabane du CAS avec un feu. Le combustible est loin d’être épuisé, et René allumera donc probablement encore le feu dans de nombreux endroits.

#AMOUREUXdelaSUISSE

Suisse Tourisme recommande

Interlaken

Nichée entre les lacs de Thoune et de Brienz et entourée d’un décor de montagnes impressionnant, Interlaken est le point de départ idéal pour de nombreuses activités. Qu’il s’agisse de détente dynamique ou d’activités d’aventure qui font monter l’adrénaline, le sport et l’aventure conjugués avec beaucoup de plaisir, de soleil, de nature et de magnifiques panoramas seront au rendez-vous.


En savoir plus

Offres spéciales de MyWeekend

Profitez-en maintenant

MyWeekend

Découvrez plus d'histoires