en  

#myWeekend - Tom Lüthi


Friendship on two wheels

From the Emmental Valley into the wide world

A friendship of many years that speaks of dangerous bear traps, and the theft of a motorbike that would be his breakthrough – Raise the curtain for Tom Lüthi.

The village of Linden has a special vibe: motorbiking is loved and lived here. With a grin, Tom said that almost everyone here has been infected with the "virus". From a young age, people would meet in the village centre with their own mopeds. On Wednesday afternoons, Tom and his moped gang would drive to Heimdorf 20 kilometres away in order to treat themselves to an afternoon snack at a burger joint. While others happily puttered about on their mopeds, Tom always preferred to ride hard and fast. That mopeds need a lot of power in this part of Switzerland is demonstrated when one rides from Thun to Linden. When I visited Tom at his home, I had to go up a few hills in the green Emmental Valley to meet him in a rather remote place in the middle of nature, right next to his parents’ house and near his friends.

Tom, 34, is a passionate Swiss motorbike racer. His homeland supports him when he travels around the world in order to be the fastest.

The moped gang from the Emmental Valley

At the age of 15, Tom went out into the wide world – but his friendships remain to this day. Like Tom, his former moped gang still lives in Linden in the Emmental Valley or very nearby. He can rely on his six friends. Everyone helps each other when someone needs something. That is Tom’s definition of friendship. One of his friends is Bruno. He also shares a love of motorbiking. While Tom rides on perfectly asphalted roads, Bruno prefers riding off-road. He also participates in the Swiss Motocross Championship and is the OC president of Motocross Linden.

Bruno is the joker in the group, which can be seen in their WhatsApp group chat posts. As a young boy, he was fond of plagiarising and hoodwinking the group. Tom recalled an outing in the forest near Bruno’s parents’ house. Bruno told his friends that dangerous bear traps lied in wait in the forest and that they should therefore be sure to follow his every step. Tom laughingly said that Bruno was very convincing, and they toddled along single file behind him. Bruno remembered the times when they had a campfire. The two adventurers pitched their first tent camp in the forest not far from their home. At the campfire, syrup and sausage circled around under the watchful eyes of Bruno’s mother. After all, bears do live in the forest.

To Bruno, Tom is still the same as before. Tom takes part in many activities, and he likes to dabble in other things, but he also knows pretty well what his limits are. Bruno values the honesty and reliability of his friendship with Tom. Almost everyone in their group rides a motorbike, but Bruno and Tom are the most sedulous. On free weekends they both ride over the Simplon Pass to Italy in order to train on motocross courses. Even though motocross is completely different from racing, for Tom it is a conditional workout that is also fun. Bright and early on Saturday mornings, their bus stops at Simplonbeck for a small breakfast. Once they arrive in the north of Italy, they train during the day, and in the evening, they enjoy the Italian ambience while having pizza and beer. Training and friendship are an ideal combination.

Tom and Bruno also meet right in front of their front door on the weekends between races. The Emmental Valley is a little paradise and offers many options for mountain biking. The two of them ride past farms and cows towards the forest on gravel roads. Their friendship is not entirely without competition, though: Bruno thinks that he has more stamina, and Tom believes that he is better at riding a wheelie. After a ride, they always enjoy the view of the Swiss mountains and talk about engines and the world over a beer.

Two worlds

The racing season begins for Tom with the first test rides and the start of the season in March. From then on, Tom is on a 14-day rhythm on the circuit in the USA, Japan, Australia and five other countries until November. Spectators gather in the stands and around the racecourse. VIP guests are catered to in a luxurious lounge, and they can take a look behind the scenes. And then it’s time and

"the gladiators enter the arena".

That’s how Tom humorously described the starting formation. But he barely notices the show going on around him. At that moment he has only one objective: to be the fastest!

All of the traveling from a race weekend back home and again to the next race weekend is very stressful. Perfect timing is required! After a flight from Switzerland into the wide world, one of his long-term partnerships pays off for Tom here as well. Thanks to Hertz Gold Plus Rewards, he can get his rental car without having to queue, and then he can go directly to the racetrack and begin preparing for the race.

Tom lives in two worlds: the imposing world of racing and a small village away from the hustle and bustle. The true challenge for a racer is slowing down. Tom must first learn the balance between these two worlds. He strictly separates his job and his free time. He enjoys peace and nature with his friends and family in his home village. Now and then he goes further away with his friends, to Verbier to go skiing or to the ocean to go kitesurfing.

How it all began

Tom and Bruno inherited their fascination with race machines from their fathers. They were already enthusiastic motorbike riders, and together they founded the Linden Motorbike Club. Tom’s first motorbike, a second hand pocket bike, was a gift from his father. He would ride his bike whenever possible, including during the summer holidays in Italy. Tom was very disappointed when his favourite possession was stolen from the caravan there. However, with the insurance sum he was able to buy an even better quality bike. And so in the end, this incident resulted in his first racing victory. Since there were no other career opportunities in Switzerland, he participated in the Junior Cup in Germany. Weekend after weekend his parents drove him the long journey to Germany. According to Tom, without this support, for which he is grateful, his career would never have been possible. Not only talent, but also family backing was a determining factor. They frequently returned to their village, Linden, very late Sunday night, so after only a few hours sleep, Tom would be sitting in his classroom again. During the break, of course Bruno and his schoolmates would ask a tired Tom about the weekend. But the others never acted jealous. In Linden, everyone is crazy about motorbikes, because everyone indulges the others and shares in the excitement.

Following compulsory education, Tom soon had a chance to enter the world of professional motorbiking and Bruno began to work as a carpenter. In the year 2001, Tom competed in the German championship, and then everything began to happen rather quickly. "I was successful at the right time and place", said Tom about how things developed at the time. He met his current manager, Daniel Epp, at a race. At the time, he led a team at the 125cm3 World Championship, and he offered Tom a chance to be a reserve rider and to fill in for one of his injured riders. In 2003, his first full season, he rode in the World Championship. For a long time, Tom didn’t believe that he could persist in motorbiking as a Swiss. That changed in the year 2005 when 19-year-old Tom took the lead in the overall classification and actually won the World Championship! "It was incredible, and it all happened so quickly", reckoned Tom and Bruno, looking back. Of course, the village shared in the excitement. Tom’s race was watched on a big screen under a marquee, and his victory was met with cheers. Bruno even took a whole week off in order to celebrate with his friend. Even now the whole village is thrilled and celebrates in the pub and is happy when Tom is in the news.

When Tom was injured, it became clear that his friends are also there for him in difficult times. In 2013, he crashed in Valencia while preparing for the season. This resulted in a bad comminuted elbow fracture. From one moment to the next, it was unclear whether Tom would ever race again. On the Swiss Air Rescue flight back to Switzerland he was in hellish pain, and he said he was against surgery at the university hospital and that he wanted to be flown to the hospital in Münsingen. Being operated on by his longtime doctor there turned out to be the best decision he ever made. With new courage and support from his family, friends and manager, Tom fought back, and 12 months later he competed in the third race of the season.

During our conversation it quickly became clear that Tom still has a few motorbiking goals in sight. At the age of 35, it’s not over for him yet. Motivation as well as physical and mental fitness are much more important than age. So, for the next few years he will continue to curve around the world on a race motorbike.

A new challenge every five years

More than five years ago, Tom began to pursue the second thing that has fascinated him since he was a child: flying. After 50 flying hours in a helicopter, Tom attempted the examination. On his first solo flight, he was more nervous than he had been in a long time. Even when racing, he was always more relaxed. On a side note, Tom said that his race bike is faster than the helicopter.

When he returns to Linden after a race, he likes to hire a helicopter and fly over the Emmental Valley towards the mountains. That he also shares this passion with his friends was demonstrated on Bruno’s 30th birthday. To the surprise of the guests, Tom and Bruno flew to Linden and then transported them in a helicopter taxi to the party in Grindelwald. The weekend is a happy memory not only for the guests, but for Tom and Bruno as well.

Testing his physical and mental limits excites Tom and he would like to experience a survival camp in the jungle or in Alaska. Actually, he once made plans to do so. They wanted to practice an emergency landing in the mountains with a helicopter and spend the night in self-made igloos. But the whole thing was postponed, and it was not possible for Tom to participate. The idea, however, remains and he would like to do it as soon as possible. Who knows, perhaps Tom will come across real bear traps in Alaska, and perhaps Bruno will also be there with him.


#inLOVEwithSWITZERLAND

Switzerland Tourism recommends

Emmental

Emmental is not just the home of the world-famous cheese of the same name. With over 1,000 kilometres of hiking trails and countless cycling routes, the region is also a paradise for adventure holidays. Enjoy the view over the unique hilly landscape of Emmental as far as the famous triumvirate of the Bernese Oberland: Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau.


Discover more

Special MyWeekend offers

Benefit now

MyWeekend

Discover more stories

fr  

#myWeekend - Tom Lüthi


Amitié sur deux roues

D'Emmental à travers le monde

Une amitié de longue date évoquant des pièges à ours dangereux et une moto volée qui lui a permis de percer – levée de rideau sur Tom Lüthi.

Le village de Linden est empreint d’une atmosphère singulière – le motocyclisme y est aimé et vécu. Presque tout le monde ici est infecté par le « virus », dit Tom avec un sourire. Dès le plus jeune âge, on se retrouvait avec sa propre moto au centre du village. Le mercredi après-midi, Tom et sa bande de motocyclistes se rendaient à Heimdorf, à 20 kilomètres de là, pour s’offrir un quatre-heures au stand de burgers. Alors que d’autres aimaient bricoler leur mobylette, Tom a toujours préféré conduire. Qu’une motocyclette ait besoin de beaucoup de puissance dans cette région de la Suisse devient évident quand on conduit de Thoune à Linden. Lorsque je rends visite à Tom chez lui, je franchis moi aussi quelques mètres de dénivelé dans l’Emmental vert, Je le rencontre en pleine nature assez isolé, juste à côté de la maison de ses parents et à proximité de ses amis.

Tom, 34 ans, est un passionné de courses de moto suisse. Son pays d'origine renforce son dos lorsqu'il parcourt le monde pour être le plus rapide.

La bande des motards de l'Emmental

Tom est parti à la conquête du vaste monde à l’âge de 15 ans – mais ses amitiés ont perduré jusqu’à aujourd’hui. Comme Tom, son ancienne bande de motards vit toujours à Linden dans l’Emmental ou dans les environs. Vous pouvez compter sur ces six garçons. Chacun aide l’autre en cas de besoin. Pour Tom, c’est la définition de l’amitié. Bruno est l’un de ses amis. Il partage également l’amour de la moto. Alors que Tom roule sur des pistes parfaitement goudronnées, Bruno préfère le sol en terre. Accessoirement, il participe au championnat suisse de motocross et, en sa qualité de président du CO, il dirige le motocross à Linden.

Bruno est le farceur de sa clique, ce qui se manifeste dans les contributions de son groupe WhatsApp. Dès son plus jeune âge, il aimait plagier et mener le groupe par le bout du nez. Tom se souvient d’une excursion dans la forêt près de la maison des parents de Bruno. Bruno a juré à ses amis que de dangereux pièges à ours se cachaient dans la forêt et qu’ils devaient le suivre à la trace. En riant, Tom dit que Bruno a été très convaincant et qu’ils l’ont suivi en file indienne. L’époque des feux de camp est restée dans la mémoire de Bruno. Les deux aventuriers ont installé le premier campement dans la forêt, non loin de leur maison. Les yeux vigilants de la mère de Bruno tournoyaient autour du feu de camp, du sirop et des saucisses - après tout, il y a des ours qui vivent dans la forêt.

Pour Bruno, Tom est toujours le même depuis cette époque. Tom est impliqué dans beaucoup de choses, il aime tracer, mais tout en sachant aussi très bien où sont les limites. Bruno apprécie l’honnêteté et la fiabilité dans son amitié avec Tom. Presque tout le groupe fait de la moto, mais Bruno et Tom sont les plus assidus. Les week-ends libres, ils se rendent tous les deux en Italie par le col du Simplon pour s’entraîner sur les pistes de motocross. Le motocross est complètement différent de la course, mais pour Tom, c’est un entraînement qui demande de l’endurance et qui procure du plaisir en même temps. Tôt le samedi matin, leur bus s’arrête au Simplonbeck pour un petit déjeuner. Arrivés dans le nord de l’Italie, ils s’entraînent pendant la journée et profitent de l’ambiance italienne le soir autour d’une pizza et d’une bière. L’entraînement et l’amitié se conjuguent à la perfection.

Les fins de semaine entre les courses, Tom et Bruno se rencontrent également directement sur le pas de leur porte. L’Emmental est un petit paradis et offre de nombreuses possibilités de pratiquer du VTT. Empruntant des chemins caillouteux, ils se dirigent vers la forêt en passant devant des fermes et des vaches. Mais cela ne saurait se passer tout à fait de compétition – Bruno estime avoir la plus grande endurance. Tom riposte, en affirmant être le meilleur en termes de cabrage. Après le sport, ils jouissent de la vue sur fond de montagnes suisses et parlent de moteurs et du monde en savourant une bonne bière.

Deux univers

L’année des courses commence pour Tom avec les premiers essais de conduite et la saison débute en mars. À partir de ce moment et jusqu’en novembre, Tom est sur les pistes de course à un rythme de 14 jours aux États-Unis, au Japon, en Australie et dans cinq autres pays. Les spectateurs se rassemblent dans les tribunes et autour de la piste de course, les invités VIP sont pris en charge dans des hébergements de luxe et peuvent jeter un coup d’œil dans les coulisses. Et puis

« Les gladiateurs entrent dans l’arène »,

c’est ainsi que Tom décrit avec humour la grille de départ. Mais il ne remarque presque rien du spectacle qui se déroule autour de lui. Pour l’instant, il n’a qu’un seul objectif : être le plus rapide !

Tous les nombreux déplacements entre le domicile et les week-ends de course sont très stressants. Il faut un timing parfait ! Après chaque vol, de la Suisse vers le reste du monde, l'un de ses partenariats à long terme est payant pour Tom. Grâce aux Hertz Gold Plus Rewards, il n'y a plus de file d'attente pour accéder à la voiture de location, puis directement au paddock et les préparatifs de la course peuvent commencer.

Tom vit dans deux univers – l’univers impressionnant des courses et le petit village loin de l’agitation. Le vrai challenge pour un pilote de course est de ralentir. Tom a d’abord dû apprendre l’équilibre entre ces deux univers. Il sépare strictement le travail et les loisirs. Avec ses amis et sa famille, il profite de la tranquillité et de la nature dans son village natal. De temps à autre, il va aussi plus loin avec ses amis, faire du ski à Verbier ou du kitesurf à la mer.

Comment tout a commencé

Tom et Bruno tiennent de leurs pères leur fascination pour les engins de course. Ceux-ci étaient déjà des motocyclistes passionnés et ont fondé ensemble le Motoclub Linden. La première motocyclette de Tom était un cadeau de son père : un pocket bike d’occasion. Il mettait les gaz chaque fois qu’il le pouvait, comme pendant ces vacances d’été en Italie. Lorsque son objet favori a été volé dans la caravane, la déception de Tom fut grande. Cependant, avec le montant de l’assurance, il a même été possible d’acheter une motocyclette de meilleure qualité technique. Cet événement lui assure enfin ses premières victoires en course. Comme il n’y avait pas de possibilités de promotion en Suisse, il a participé à la Junior Cup en Allemagne. Week-end après week-end, ses parents le conduisaient en Allemagne. Sans ce soutien, sa carrière n’aurait jamais été possible, affirme Tom avec gratitude. Le talent ne suffit pas, le soutien de la famille est tout aussi crucial. Il n’était pas rare qu’ils atteignent leur village de Linden tard dans la nuit et Tom se retrouvait en classe après très peu d’heures de sommeil. Pendant la pause, Tom, fatigué, était bien sûr interrogé par Bruno et ses camarades de classe sur son week-end. Mais il n’a jamais connu la jalousie. À Linden, tout le monde est « fou de motos », s’amuse et s’enfièvre, à chacun son bonheur.

Après la scolarité obligatoire, Tom a eu la chance d’entrer dans le monde des courses de motos professionnelles, tandis que Bruno s’est aventuré, lui, dans le monde professionnel de la charpenterie. En 2001, Tom a participé au championnat allemand et les choses se sont ensuite déroulées assez rapidement. « J’ai connu la réussite au bon endroit au bon moment », c’est ainsi que Tom décrit l’évolution à cette époque. C’est aussi lors d’une course qu’il a fait la connaissance de son directeur actuel, Daniel Epp. À l’époque, il dirigeait une équipe dans le championnat du monde de 125 cm3 et a offert à Tom la possibilité de remplacer un de ses coureurs blessé. En 2003, il effectua déjà sa première saison complète dans le championnat du monde. Pendant longtemps, Tom ne pensait pas pouvoir survivre en tant que Suisse dans les courses de motos. Cela a changé en 2005 : Tom, âgé de 19 ans, a pris la tête du classement général et a même remporté le titre de champion du monde ! « C’était incroyable et tout s’est passé si vite », observent Tom et Bruno se tournant vers le passé. Le village participait bien sûr à l’effervescence. Un grand écran et un chapiteau permettaient de suivre la course de Tom et de célébrer sa victoire. À l’époque, Bruno a même pris une semaine entière de congés pour fêter cela avec son ami. Aujourd’hui encore, tout le village s’enflamme au bistro, heureux de voir Tom quand il apparaît à la télé.

Que ses amis soient également présents dans les moments difficiles est devenu évident lors des blessures sportives de Tom. En 2013, il fit une chute en préparant la saison à Valence. Le résultat fut une mauvaise fracture comminutive du coude. À tout moment il n’était plus certain que Tom puisse reprendre les courses. Sur le vol du retour de la Rega vers la Suisse, il s’est opposé à une opération à l’hôpital universitaire et, dans d’atroces souffrances, a décidé qu’il devait être transporté en avion à l’hôpital de Münsingen. Le fait que son médecin de longue date l’ait opéré là s’est avéré être la meilleure décision de sa vie. Avec un courage renouvelé et le soutien de sa famille, de ses amis et de son manager, Tom s’est battu pour recouvrer sa forme d’antan et 12 mois plus tard, il prit le départ de la troisième course de la saison.

Au cours de notre conversation, il devient rapidement évident que Tom a toujours quelques objectifs en vue dans le domaine des courses de motos. À 35 ans, ce n’est pas encore terminé. La motivation et la forme physique et mentale sont beaucoup plus importantes que l’âge. Ainsi, dans les prochaines années, il continuera à faire le tour du monde en moto de course.

Un nouveau challenge tous les cinq ans

Il y a plus de cinq ans, Tom s’est adonné à sa deuxième fascination, qui l’accompagne depuis l’enfance : l’aviation. Après 50 heures de vol en hélicoptère, Tom a osé et passé l’examen. Lors de son premier vol en solo, il était plus nerveux qu’il ne l’avait été depuis longtemps. Même pendant ses courses, il était plus détendu. Soit dit en passant, Tom fait remarquer que sa moto de course est plus rapide que l’hélicoptère.

Lorsqu’il retourne à Linden après les courses, il aime affréter l’hélicoptère et survoler l’Emmental vers les montagnes. Qu’il partage aussi cette passion avec ses amis a été prouvé à l’occasion du 30e anniversaire de Bruno. À la surprise des invités, Tom et Bruno se sont rendus à Linden en hélicoptère et ont transporté ces derniers en taxi-hélicoptère jusqu’à Grindelwald pour la fête. Le week-end est resté dans les meilleurs souvenirs non seulement des invités, mais aussi de Tom et de Bruno.

Explorer les limites physiques et mentales, cela emballe Tom. Tom aimerait faire l’expérience d’un camp de survie dans la jungle ou en Alaska. En fait, cela avait déjà été prévu dans le passé. Avec l’hélicoptère, ils voulaient s’entraîner à un atterrissage d’urgence dans les montagnes et passer la nuit dans des igloos construits de leurs propres mains. Mais le tout a été reporté et Tom n’a pas pu y participer. Mais l’idée est restée et il veut la mettre en œuvre le plus vite possible. Qui sait, peut-être Tom rencontrera-t-il alors de vrais pièges à ours en Alaska et de nouveau en compagnie de Bruno.


#AMOUREUXdelaSUISSE

Suisse Tourisme recommande

Emmental

L’Emmental n’est pas seulement le berceau du célèbre fromage du même nom. Plus de 1000 km de chemins pédestres et de nombreux itinéraires cyclistes font de la région un paradis pour les vacanciers actifs. Profitez d’une vue sur le paysage vallonné unique de l’Emmental jusqu’au célèbre trio de montagnes de l’Oberland bernois: l’Eiger, le Mönch et la Jungfrau.


En savoir plus

Offres spéciales de MyWeekend

Profites-en dès maintenant

MyWeekend

Découvrez plus d'histoires